HANDGUN SAFETY CLASS
CLICK HERE TO REGISTER FOR THE
The class cost $55 plus $20 for the book and other materials, $75 TOTAL. Class start around 10 AM last at least 5 hours and covers the classroom portion of the NRA Class required by Judges for a handgun license in Orange and surrounding counties. Class also covers license requirements and process after NRA class is over. Fee includes The NRA Guide to the Basics of Pistol Shooting Handbook and other material. Orange County Pistol Applications will be available for the $10 Fee.
GUN CLASS IN YOUR HOUSE
I will come to your house to give the class. If you have at least 2 people, (3 is better,) I will come to your house to give you the class. The Safety Class is good for Orange, Ulster, Sullivan and Westchester counties.
If you have 2 or more people I will give a class at your house.
CLICK HERE TO SEND ME AN EMAIL
HANDGUN CLASS AT GANDER MTN.
BECAUSE THEY CHARGE $50 PER PERSON FOR THE
USE OF "THE LODGE"
THE COST OF THE CLASS IS AN EXORBITANT $125 FOR THE SAME CLASSS I GIVE.
FOR THAT AMOUNT I WILL COME TO YOUR HOUSE AND GIVE YOU THE CLASS.
NOTE: If you are at this website for information about getting you handgun license and you need to take the safety class, please support this website by taking my safety class. It might cost a little more but it is worth it.
CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFO ABOUT MY
Just remember that the sooner you turn in your application, the sooner you get your license.
MY FIREARMS TRAINING CLASS
IS BASED ON THE
NRA's FIRST STEPS PISTOL ORIENTATION COURSE.
Firearm Instruction, Responsibility and Safety
ME IF YOU WANT TO TAKE THE CLASS
| The course covers:
I also include in addition to the
Introduction to Pistol Safety, Parts, and Operation
Introduction to Ammunition and the Fundamentals
of Pistol Shooting
- Introduction to pistol Cleaning, Storage, and
The initial class takes about 4 1/2 hours.
Information on New York State Laws, what to look
for and where to find it
Information on the application process
A separate follow-up class after you get your
license, where you can shoot using your gun and some of my guns.
(If you don't get this book and other NRA supplies
and an official NRA Certificate, it is not an NRA Class. Some people give the
class and claim to be an NRA INSTRUCTOR. Unless you are giving an official
NRA Class the NRA does not allow you to add that you are an NRA instructor.)
PLEASE NOTE THAT YOU CAN TAKE THE REQUIRED SAFETY
CLASS BEFORE OR AFTER YOU PUT IN YOUR APPLICATION BUT REMEMBER THAT THE SOONER
YOU PUT IN YOUR APPLICATION THE SOONER YOU WILL GET IT BACK.
New York State is one of the few states, if not the
only state, that does not trust its citizens to even touch a handgun without
having a license unless you are from 14 to 21 of age to shoot a handgun
at a range under supervision without a license. The Judges who require
the class have never approved a course outline and Orange County does not
issue, (for good reason,) the exemption allowed for by law that allows
you to handle a handgun without a license. The NRA FIRST STEPS
PISTOL ORIENTATION has it's own requirements to meet it's stated
To provide beginning shooters with an introduction to the knowledge,
skills, and attitude necessary to own and use a specific pistol model
My class is based on the NRA FIRST Steps Pistol Orientation class.
(FIRST stands for Firearm
Instruction, Responsibility and Safety Training.)
As part of the requirement of the class you are required to promise
that you will meet me after you get your license and we will go over the
class using the handgun that you have purchased. Only then will I
issue you the official NRA FIRST STEPS PISTOL ORIENTATION
certificate. I will charge an additional fee but I will bring along
several of my guns to try. You do get a book and some handouts and other
things to keep as part of the class. It takes about 4 to 5 hours and
normally the class size is limited.
I also cover some of the New York State Laws that
you might want to know about and where you can find the laws and books
that you can use to answer questions that you might have. I also
go into the details of applying for a LICENSE TO CARRY CONCEALED.
my web page link to: WHAT ARE SOME OF THE STATE LAWS THAT I SHOULD KNOW
PLEASE CLICK HERE TO E-MAIL
ME IF YOU ARE INTERESTED OR YOU WANT TO ASK ME ANY QUESTIONS.
THIS IS THE FIRST STEPS CERTIFICATE.
IF YOU DID NOT GET THIS, YOU DID
NOT TAKE THE FIRST STEPS CLASS.
E-Mail from past student:
Thanks for the course today! It was a _LOT_ more informative than
it would be. Believe it or not, I went in expecting it to "drag on"...
actually went pretty quickly! Time flies when you're having fun, I guess
:) Once again, thank you. I learned a lot more than I expected to. Having
been a firearms enthusiast almost all my life and now being a collector of
long arms, and researcher of varied small and long arms, the fact that
there are still unknowns out there came as a pleasant surprise.